Continue to Site

Considering Startup

jefferey13

So I am considering getting into the pizza business and it is a huge passion of mine. I have experience running on my own business (tax, payroll, ordering, accounting, etc) but no experience specifically for a pizza shop. Money and funding is not issue, and recipes also wouldn’t really be an issue either. I have a very specific plan of what I want my restaurant to be but I want to start smaller first before I try to have a “dream” restaurant.

Is there any specific advice you would give to someone starting up (simple saying don’t do it isn’t the type of advice I’m looking for)? Ovens, locations, coupons, delivery, menu, employees, hours, etc are all the types of things I’d love thoughts on. How about buying out an existing vs starting up? What is standard evaluation for a independent shop, 3x?

I have plenty of business experience, business mentors, and the legal and accountant side all taken care of. I understand those risks.

Thanks guys, I really love pizza and business. I make pizza every single day as it is and would love to have my job be my passion. Also if there is anyone on here who provides consulting I would be interested.

Last edited:
How many hours are you planning on working a week? BTW, I’m not trying to be a wise-ass in asking that.

I don’t know if he still does, but I believe Pizzamancer used to work as a consultant. He posts here often enough so you could check with him on that.

Last edited:
Rocco- Thanks for the reply, I know my post was very general. Hours per week? What I was kind of planning on in the early stages was somewhere around 65-75. Hopefully Pizzamancer will chime in then.

Last edited:
Okay, you wanted it. Here it is:

Way too vague. If you want good answers, start asking good questions. You will never get the right answers asking the wrong questions.