Continue to Site

COST PERCENTAGE

• Thread starter Thread starter system
  • Start date Start date
S

system

OK, I know I’m new at this. Six weeks now and still learning the ropes. But we just took inventory for the first time so now I have some definite numbers to work with. I was surprised to find that my COS is about 31%. Shouldn’t my box expenses be counted into the COS figure? If I include my boxes, etc into the COS my % is WAY OFF. If that’s the case then I got a real problem. If not, then what percentage should all the “supplies” (boxes, cups, etc.) be of my sales. Help! and Thank you.

I would NOT include box or paper/take-out expenses in my cost of food % but some do…

I track my packaging costs as another line item…

I also track beverage sales/costs apart from food costs…

Semper Fi
U.S.M.C.
Auditor

Last edited:
what is your percentage of takeout and delivery compared to dine in? most places are 20-25% dine in in this business (except ph) so i feel it should be included in the food cost for a pizza

Last edited:
Hopefully Billy will expound on “yes”. I am thick and don’t understand what he is replying to 😦

I ran my numbers this month, and I am doing about 25.6% Food Cost (FC) this month. When I include packaging goods like foil, boxes, foam containers, little souffle cups/lids . . . I hit 27.9% COGS. That’s how I distinguish the two numbers in my counting.

I hope this is helpful to you.

Last edited:
We include everyting we consume in COGS, so food, paper, cleaning supplies, condiments etc. For the last couple of years we have been at about 29.5% all in. High volume months it drops to about 26% and in the slowest months it can be 35%. (Our highest volume month is 4X our lowest)

Since we are a delivery business and therefor boxes are part of every order, I would not separate them out any more than I would leave out sauce when firguring cost of goods.

Last edited:
yes, i consider all paper products c.o.g.s.