Deck Pizza Ovens

RickG

I have been using a stack of Blodgett 1060 gas ovens for about 20 years. I am considering new ovens. What deck oven are you using, currently and in the past. How do they compare to each other, and which do you prefer. Pros & Cons? We do about 70-90 pizzas per hour at peak time. I am considering a new set of Blodgett 1060’s, Marsal MB60’s and Marsal SD660/1060’s. We do have a display pizza kitchen and I do like the look of the MB series, however, production and performance is a priority. Any input is much appreciated.

Maybe a Hot Rocks oven?
It could offer you the stone bake you want plus put the ease of conveyor in your arsenal. Put a nice stone facade around it to satisfy your open kitchen

Thank you for your response. I did look at the Hot Rocks oven at the Atlantic City Pizza show. They are interesting, but $55k and lots of moving parts. Also, after 30 years, I’m not sure how my customers would receive the change from a traditional to conveyer oven.

Hey Rick G,

I have a NY pizza shop that’s about 1yr old now. We went with triple stack SD 660s. I can’t necessarily say we’re unhappy with them – but they certainly have their learning curve.

We rock at 550 all the time and it bakes a gorgeous pizza in about 7-8min when they’re hot and goes all the way up to 15min when the ovens are full and we’re cranking pizza after pizza.

Our pizzas always need to be rotated. I’ve personally never seen a properly cooked pizza out of a deck oven that didn’t need to be rotated. It might be a personal thing though. I’m adamant about 1 color all the way around.

Hope that helps!

-Michael

Michael, Thank you for your response. Do you have the fire brick installed on the top of the baking chamber? What ovens have you used in the past, and what’s the learning curve you mention. Marsal does advertise “no turning”, but I too have not seen a deck oven that will cook evenly.
Also, how do you reach into the top oven?

Rick

Last edited: