Continue to Site

Dough Rounder decision

pc2828

I am new to the pizza business and already started having pain from hand rolling dough and need to find dough rounder solution. Labor cost is high in my area and I’m prepared to invest in a dough rounder machine. We are low volume mom and pop for now.

We make brick oven thin crust and use low hydration dough for 3.6oz and 16oz sizes, and use Somerset sheeter.

I would like to find out which type of machine produces the tightest quality ball, bowl type(Dutches) or spiral cylinder (AM Manufacturing or Somerset)?

Dutchess DUT/PM-502 Rounder/Kneader

http://www.dutchessbakers.com/dut_pm-502.htm

AM Manufacturing R-900RT

http://www.ammfg.com/dough_R900RT.html

Somerset SDR400 (if comparable to R900RT would prefer due to lower price and smaller footprint)

http://www.smrset.com/dough-rounder-sdr-400.shtml

Thank You

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk

Last edited:
I have had my AM rounder for approx 15yrs and have not had a problem with the exception of having to replace the plastic disc on the bottom about once a year. I use a Somerset sheeter also and like their rounder also but until mine goes to rounder heaven than I will put off that purchase. If I was buying now I would go with the Somerset.

Last edited:
I have had my AM rounder for approx 15yrs and have not had a problem with the exception of having to replace the plastic disc on the bottom about once a year. I use a Somerset sheeter also and like their rounder also but until mine goes to rounder heaven than I will put off that purchase. If I was buying now I would go with the Somerset.
Thanks for the input and quick reply. Would you say the dough ball produced equivalent to hand rolling tightness/quality? Have you had direct experience with Somerset Rounder and would you say result same as AM? It seems AM is the gold standard.

Last edited: