Continue to Site

Dough Sheeters

norma427

I am new to making pizza. I only started April 1, 2009 I am now opening the skins up by hand and making 16" pizzas at our local farmers market. I am mostly selling the pizza by the slice, but am also making some whole pizzas to sell. I am looking into purchasing a sheeter if I can find one for the right price. I have read the posts by Tom Lehmann about sheeters and dough presses. Can anyone tell me if you can tell a difference in the finished product. I know this will take out gases, but would like to know what professionals have to say about sheeters. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank You,
Norma

Last edited:
I don’t use one in my shop but thats because I mostly sell deep dish. When I worked at pizza shops with them I loved them. They are great for creating a thin or Neopolitan style crust. I mainly used them to get the crust to a decent starting point and then hand tossed the rest of it to fit the pizza screens we used. They are awsome in a rush as it makes it faster to get the dough uniform thickness and partially to where you want. I know places that just take it straight from the sheeter and put on a screen, personally I like to add a few tosses to make it better, this may just be because I love tossing pizzas lol. Good luck on your venture!!

Last edited: