Continue to Site

Dough

daisy1

After moving to my new location it has been a crazy busy thing… I am by far complaining here, but I feel as though I can not keep up with making dough. I normally make dough and don’t use it for at least 36 hrs, BUT since the move I cant keep up with it. I’m making 2 full batches (200#lbs) of dough daily and still have to use what I just made that morning. My main issue is if I end up having to use the dough I just made that morning, I feel the final product is just not as good as it would be if it sat 36 hrs.

I have been using IDY yeast should I switch to ADY yeast ??? I have never used ADY before and not sure if any of my other ingredients would have to be changed or would I continue to use same amounts of salt, sugar, oil & water, and if I did switch to ADY how much would I use

Last edited:
I don’t see why you would or should switch out the yeast…no benefit in taste/flavor/performance…we’ve always made dough in the afternoon and forecasted the need based on previous consumption…sounds like you might to crank out another batch or two to get a leg up…a
on some monster blowout days, we’ve had to make dough after 10 pm to catch up…extra dough tray won’t spoil…lol…rearrange your cooler if need be…use cold, cold water for longer lasting dough, just pull out & proof a few hours before the need…I’ve never liked the poolish(?) method, but that is a consideration too…

Last edited:
I don’t see why you would or should switch out the yeast…no benefit in taste/flavor/performance…we’ve always made dough in the afternoon and forecasted the need based on previous consumption…sounds like you might to crank out another batch or two to get a leg up…a