Continue to Site

?? For those of you doing beers...

Deacon_V

I finally have some light in my tunnel (maybe it will stay lit this time!) and if I finally progress towards getting this place up and running, I want my ducks already quacking. With that in mind, our concept is a “pizzeria & pub” and I intend to have 6 or so craft brews on draft, and maybe another 25 or so in bottles. My question is in costs of equipment. I have no experience with beer distributors, and before I call them I’d like to gain some knowledge so I’m not railroaded.

Do they operate like a soda distributor in placing dispensing gear at N/C, or will I have to plan on popping for all new draft equipment and lines??? I can swing it if I end up having to provide the keg gear, but I just don’t want surprises, and certainly don’t want to buy my own, only to find out 1 year down the road that “dude…they ALWAYS provide that stuff”.

Last edited:
you will have to provide beer/cooler equipment in all the states I’ve worked in…if you have the $$$ a good system is a larger walk-in cooler & run insulated lines to the service area…all the kegs can be synced together, so if one runs out, another is already tapped…the the beer guy makes a simple exchange…

Many time the beer guy will pop for a monthly cleaning of the lines…

Some beers/brands runs better @ different pressures, so a couple of tanks is my vote…

Last edited:
Check with your state alcohol bureau about what distributors are allowed to provide. I’ve been successful in getting them to provide line cleaning for free and they’ll usually do all the installation of equipment for free as well, but they can’t give or even loan any equipment to us.

Last edited:
We carry bottled and canned beer: domestic, craft, and import. No keg (no space!!!). Draft is by far a better mark-up, but the real question is, what % of sales do you see beer bringing in?? For me, its only 6%.

Last edited: