Continue to Site

Gum line and shrinkage on a gluten-free pizza crust

jklk3517

I have been making gluten-free pizza for four years now and I am always trying to improve it. I have two problems I would like to correct. The first one is the gum line; it is more then half of the thickness of the crust.
Second it shrinks one inch when I par-bake it.
This is the process I go through:
I press our dough out into a twelve inch circle on a Dough-Pro at 200 degrees
Then I par-bake the crust 550 for 4 minutes on an electric conveyor oven
Heat seal it in an oven safe cooking platter and freeze it.
Then right out of the freezer I add toppings and back into the 600 degree gas Bakers Pride pizza oven.
The dough is made out of these ingredients:
White and brown rice flour, tapioca flour, potato flour, xanthan gum, gelatin, honey, canola oil and yeast.

Last edited:
I’m not sure what a gum line is so I can’t help you there. If the crust is shrinking an inch when you par bake it–make it an inch bigger and it should be perfect! 😃

Last edited:
Thanks, but I don’t want to use more dough and that is what I would need to do to make it an inch larger. So thanks but that isn’t what I want to do.

Last edited: