Continue to Site

Heat - and pizzas - how does the type of heat affect pizza ?

• Thread starter Thread starter system
  • Start date Start date
S

system

Hi Tom,

I have, what I hope to be a good question for you.

I volunteer at a local pizza parlour, and one day, for a test, I brought in a dough ball I made at home, so I could test how
it would turn out in the ovens there at the pizza place.

First off - I’ve been making pizza for a good 15 years, and so I’ve come to know very well how my dough, tastes in my home
oven. Time after time, year after year, it’s always the same.

Anyway, I made up a batch of dough, and used one of the dough balls at home, and got my usual results.

I then took the other dough ball ( from the same batch ) and took it to the pizza parlour. We proceeded to put some sauce and cheese
on it, and into the oven it went ( conveyor type oven )

Well, to my surprise - the pizza turned out totally different from my home oven. The results were MUCH better.

I was surprised, because at home, I crank my oven to the highest setting, most probably 550 degrees F or so. ( pre-heated oven for about an hour )
and the pizza was baked directly on my pizza stone. The pizza takes about 8 mins or a bit less to do at that temp.

Now, the oven at the pizzeria had a lower temp, but the pizza turned out better. The dough, even though it was MINE, did NOT even taste like
the pizza dough I have been making for many long years.

I’m stumped. I’m beginning to think that it’s not so much the temp of the oven but the TYPE of heat the oven is producing.

Tom, I wonder if you could spend a few moments on this with me, and perhaps open my eyes on what may be happening here.

What really impressed me what this - my pizza dough which turns out fine at home, doesn’t have that “restaurant” taste, however, when I made it there,
the results were stunning, so good, that I could sell the pizza to the owner’s customers, and they would think it was his dough.