Continue to Site

Help an MBA student - Fast-Casual Pizzeria Project

Lance_Brown

Hello everyone!

A quick introduction, my name is Lance Brown and I’m an MBA student at the University of Utah. I’m currently working on a class project in which we’re supposed to create a business plan for a fast-casual pizzeria, and my group and I are running into dead ends on some of the information that we need. If anyone could answer our questions or at least point us in the right direction, we’d be extremely appreciative.

I’ll post the questions and accompanying information below, feel free to answer on this forum or shoot me an email at [email protected] - I’d also be ecstatic to schedule a 10 minute phone call so I could interview someone over the phone.

Some of our parameters:

• []Pizzeria location: Either in a downtown location in Salt Lake City or a strip mall in a heavily commercialized suburban area
    [
    ]Pizzeria type: Fast-casual
  • Break-even point: we have run all the numbers of labor, rent, materials, ingredients, etc. and based on an average transaction of $10, we know that we will need to sell approximately 150 pies per day to break even

The questions we can’t find answers to:

• []How many pizzas per day can we expect to sell? And as a part of that:

• [
    • ]Are there peak times during the day, when are those and what do they look like?
      []Does the fast-casual pizzeria business have any sort of seasonality? If so, when is the peak season?
      [
      ]Answer these questions for the SLC area first, then moving on to Utah, the Western region, and the U.S. as a whole
    []In your opinion, would a downtown location be better than a suburban location? Our assumption is that the downtown will get higher lunchtime traffic, and the suburban would have higher dinnertime traffic, but is one better than the other? (assuming rent/costs are similar, etc.)
    [