Continue to Site

Help With Catering

PizzaMan215

Hello everyone, I would like to introduce myself to the forum, my name is Jimmy and I am a new delco owner and operator. I have been working in the biz for nearly 15 years, my place is located in a college town literally blocks from the campus. With summer nearing, my sales will drop roughly 75% and I am not exagerating at all (wish that were the case). Besides the college, there are numerous business nearby that I want to focus on obtaining catering orders from, but I have 0 experience with landing these customers. Does anyone have any insight or some pointers for me to pursue my goal.

Thanks you all in advanced.

Last edited:
PizzaMan215, I too am in a college town with one of my stores being very student oriented. Summers used to drop off dramatically but not so much in recent years. Our late night sales certainly see a decline in the summer but the summer enrollment is up every year and we see less and less of a decline. We also use this time to market to the family neighborhoods that are so important to minimizing the seasonal fluctuations. Lastly, we have some huge medical centers here that keep us pretty darn busy year round. If you have any hospitals in your area, start by dropping menus at all of the nurses stations. Get involved with hospital organized charity fundraisers. This will help spread your name around the hospital quick. You would be surprised how many people a hospital employs and how much food they order out.

Last edited:
In my experience, in order to get the big catering orders you 1st have to build up trust with many little ones by getting them right and being on time over and over again. The saying goes, “One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much." If you can’t get a single pizza to the secretary on time, she is unlikely to suggest you for a larger “important” order.