Continue to Site

Help with oven selection please

BayView_Lodge

Hi, I own and operate a restarant up in the north woods and have alot of demand for pizzas so I’m going for it. I’m kind of brand new to the pizza biz and am looking to purchase a used fairly inexpensive oven. We have a bakers pride 602 in one of our other resturants but I havent really played with it. I am looking to make a thin crust that is very crispy all the way through and would be cooking pizzas from 12- 24". I would need a pretty large deck to keep up with the volume I anticipate. In your opinion what would be a good choice for a novice to operate/expirament with out alot of tinkering? Thanks in advance! - Erik

Last edited:
I think the majority on this forum will recommend a conveyor in almost every circumstance and particularly when you anticipate volume.

That said, if you are looking for a deck oven, it’s hard to go wrong with the Bakers Pride. The Y-600 is the workhorse of the industry and I’ve not heard anyone speak ill of them. They certainly command a premium over other deck ovens.

Also, FWIW, we make a cracker thin crust using a low-hydration technique. PM me if you want the dough recipe to play around with.

pC

Last edited:
Hi Bayview:

In order to determine an oven for you it would be necessary that you better define your production requirements. If your shop is like most others, the majority of your orders will occur from 6 to 9 PM. A also there will be one or two evenings where orders vastly exceed those of other evenings.

We equip most shops to produce 200 pizzas in an hour and many to produce 300 or more.

The question is how many pizzas do you hope to sell during your busiest hour of your busiest evening?

George Mills

Last edited:
BayView Lodge: