Continue to Site

help with yelp

December

Ive just negotiated a great deal to own the pizza shop my brother and I have been establishing for the past 2 years, great lease, great rent, great sales so far.

my question is we are planning on changing the name in september maybe october we are going to hang a banner inside saying that we will be changing the name, same food, same faces etc.

my only worry is with yelp, we have a great reputation on there and although I hate yelp bc I think its unfair you can be judged by any person who has internet access.

can I just have them change my business name on the account? has anyone done this?

every time yelp has called my store they’ve always been rude, I told them I don’t want to participate in yelp and it should be a choice if you want to participate in it. I say this eventhough we have a 5 star average with 15 reviews.

a photo of me was taken opening day and posted on there I asked them to remove but they said they can’t/won’t. I’m just worried ill have to completely start over

Last edited:
I would consider keeping the name or doing something close to the name if the reputation is solid. What is the name?

Last edited:
Be careful how you tread with yelp. If you turn down their “awesome” advertising, they will start to remove your positive reviews and hide / flag some legit reviews. They are scam artists. Fortunately for us, yelp is not popular in our area, so not much affect on our business.
Dan

Last edited:
Why not keep the name if it’s doing as well as you say? Seems foolish to “start over” if it’s doing well and it’s already established. I personally try not to change things that are working, only things that aren’t.

Last edited:
Okay, I want to change the name because we didn’t chose the name (homerun pizza). The landlord who owned the bldg and buisness chose it.
I know it seems juvenile but it matters to us.

Last edited: