Continue to Site

How did you learn to make pizza dough?

Missy_PMQ

Administrator
Staff member
One of the things I regret about going to work for Domino’s was that I never learned how to make pizza dough for a store. We got it delivered from the truck right into the walk-in a couple days a week.

How did you come up with your recipe and technique?

Last edited:
One of the things I regret about going to work for Domino’s was that I never learned how to make pizza dough for a store. We got it delivered from the truck right into the walk-in a couple days a week.

How did you come up with your recipe and technique?
I started in the industry as a delivery driver I delivered for most of the pizza shops in town. I watched how each one did their dough and copied what I felt was the best.

Last edited:
I always made dough according to job helpers at corp. stores. Now that i have my own store i use a similar recipe but with our special little tricks that make it ours. Its definetly a trial and error process that takes time and patience

Last edited:
I made over 150 dough variations at home just for the thin crust. Used a digital scale and filled a notebook

Last edited:
With my trying to teach others how to scale/ball dough at my place, I have come to the conclusion that some people simply have the inherent skills needed to do it properly, but many do not.

I learned from a 3rd generation pizza shop in Milwaukee nearly 30 years ago.
I developed my own dough recipe through experimenting with different flours/hydrations to get the finished product that I wanted, and I now blend 2 different types of flour to get the properties that are preferred by myself and our customers in our pizza.

Last edited: