Continue to Site

How many partners

Pizza_Dreamer

I have been working on my business plan, which is giving me a clearer picture of what to expect. During this process there has been a nagging question in the back of my head, which is now in the front. Is 3 partners too many for a delco with projections: lowest 200,000( 1rst year) to 500,000 (6th year).

My brother-in-law and his business partner are fronting money and I am basically doing everything else. 1/3 owners.

I am a splicing tech. for major phone comp… Straight pay roughly 50K. O.T. another 25 to 35K annual.

Wife would oversee pizzeria while I’m at work and I after work with employees. We have 2 kids ( 9 and 11 ).

I have been waiting to do this for 10 years and it kills me to think this might not be worth doing all this for 1/3 of net profits.

Any experiences or feed back please.

Last edited:
Whoever is doing the actual work to run the place should be paid a market wage for doing that work BEFORE the profit is split up.

If you are going to split the proft exactly by ownership, the structure you want is an S-corp not a partnership. The “manager” takes W-2 wages for that work and the profit is split by ownership with no FICA due on those payments.

If the intent is to split profit other than by ownership in order to recognize the work of the “management” you will want to use an LLC as that allows that type of payout arrangement. Disadvantage is that FICA will be due on all of it increasing the tax burden.

Either way, you will want to create an entity to own it to protect your personal assets from liability related to the Delco. An LLC and an S-Corp provide identical liability protection. A partnership does NOT provide that protection.

Last edited: