how to quaterback deliveries if i dont know area?

boston09

I’m not familiar with streets and we get multiple deliveries with only 1-2 drivers. so with 2 drivers I would need to organize them by directions they going to. or in case of one driver, I would still need to know directions they are going to so that I could make those 2 now and those 2 wait till driver estimate of arrival say 15 min. in either case I need to know where geographically deliveries are. but I don’t since I’m new to store and area. currents pos doesn’t have map (aldelo). so heres my plan - to have big magnetic board and big matching size map of my delivery area (with grids) same size so that if fits right over it (right over magnetic board). now I ll also have little magnets numbered 1-100 attached someplace close or around the map. slip holder with all instore deliveries will be across the map. it will be drivers responsibility when he back from deliveries to quickly walk up to map (since he is very familiar with area and knows all streets by heart) , look at all newly taken delivery slips and pick matching order number magnet (small circle with number sticker on top) and approximately place on top of map. so this way I ll know which deliveries go which way and how far they are. if 2 drivers , same thing … each one returns and spends 2 minutes (or less) to put up matching magnets(ticket number to match number on top of magnet) with newly arrived deliveries and when they depart they could probably take the magnets they currently (deliveries) taking off the map so that I know they are out. in case drivers super busy one of employees who is familiar with area (or knows how to use a map) will be doing this for them. do you think it will work? or was anyone in same situation? is there a solution that worked for you? please share.

Last edited:
If possible junk that pos system and get one with all the bells and whistles you need.