Continue to Site

I got a call from the unemployment office the other day........

GotRocks

They called to verify someones work-search requirements to continue collecting their unemployment benefits.

I searched through my applications folder, I did not see this persons name anywhere, so I asked if there was a date that this person stated they filled out an application for employment. I did not want to mistakenly say they did not apply when they may have done so. The date this person listed as “Applied in person” we were closed, and I was out of town. So I was positive he falsified his paperwork.

So, I thanked the caller profusely for verifying this information, and also explained that in 7 years, this is my first time getting a verification call.
I was told that procedures have changed recently, and more verifications are being done.
So I asked what I should do if I hire someone, and they do not show up for work, (I see that often here, very often) I also asked what to do if I have another new hire show up their first day wearing pajama bottoms, a bathrobe with no shirt under it, and bath slippers with no socks! (yes, it has happened here, I have the pictures for proof)
I now have a direct line to a fraud investigator who will cross reference names, and revoke them off the payment program if they refuse work by not showing.
This makes me ecstatic! Because this area is so desperate for workers, many restaurants have gone to paying cash under the table, end of shift just to get a body in there to do dishes or some other job.
Of course these cash payments supplement whatever entitlement program they are collecting and it is making it real hard to compete when we have this happening do it being so lucrative for them to work 2-3 nights a week without reporting it, and them collecting unemployment compensation at the same time. Sure, Our pay rates far exceed what they can make, but they’d actually need to get off the couch and work to earn it.