Continue to Site

Large order help!!

pie_bar_guy

Hey guys…I need a little guidance on a large order for this saturday. We don’t deliver (dine in-carryout only) so I’m not familiar with the technicalities of orders this size. I have a customer that is interested in getting 60 Large (14") pizzas, half of them cheese and half pepp for this saturday morning at 11:30. I’ve never done an order this large before and would like a little guidance on how to set everything up so all the food comes out nice.

I’m using a Y-600 dbl stack.

I’m assuming just pre-screening them, parbaking all of them and then finishing them all off together would be the trick but am open to advice.

Any help and insight is appreciated…thanks!

Last edited:
We do orders like that pretty often. There is NO REASON to parbake. Just make them up ahead on screens and run them through. if you parbake you just have handle everything an extra time, quality suffers a lot and you don’t save any time really.

Do the extra prep the day before so you don’t have to mess with it that day.

We would make and rack all the pies starting about an hour ahead by bringing in extra help. That way all the pies would be ready before we started cooking them.

Figure out how fast (often) the pies come out of your ovens plus cook time to see how many minutes ahead of pick-up you have to start feeding them in.

For example if your ovens put out a pie a minute each and the cook time is 7 minutes you would need to start feeging pies into the ovens about 37 minutes before the scheduled pickup.

Last edited:
Bakers Pride Deck Ovens…Double stack y-602’s…120000 btu/hr per stack. Not sure deck size off hand but I can fit 8 14" screens on each deck at a time, which is what size my larges are.

Last edited:
I live in Oklahoma, so my state is quite humid.

Parbaking here usually results in a stuck pizza on the screen when it’s time to lift off after full cooking.

Last edited:
Hi Pie Bar;