Continue to Site

Long range planning for new pizzeria(2013)

ABN173

Hello all,

My name is Dale Campbell, and I am new to the forum. I used to work in the industry (only for 4 years) and even managed a place until it was sold to a couple. Once they felt learned all they could from me, and felt comfortable with the place they let me go. This was long ago (1987) and I was young so I started a career in the army. I will retire in 2012 and plan on applying for a “Patriot Loan” through the SBA to open my own place. This will be near a large military base with a lot of military retirees as well as active duty service members living in the area. This is a post that is growing and in no danger of a BRAC shutdown. Anyway I have thought about having a military themed restaurant (Nothing over the top that repels non-military customers though). I lived in the area for five years while stationed there and there are lots of the inexpensive fast food pizza places (like CiCi’s) but there is only one place that I would consider a decent dine in pizzeria, and it serves good pizza but not what I would call great pizza.

I Learned from a fellow named Paul Monette that opened a place/chain called Village Pizza in Birmingham, AL. He believe in simple proven techniques such as fresh ingredients and for the most part stayed away from canned items (especially toppings)

I am in the initial planning phases now, and playing with recipes and such. I am looking to serve pizzas, calzones, caprese, subs, pasta and salads. I also lived in Italy for eight years(while in the army) and have some invaluable experience both as a consumer and from learning typical Italian home cooking.

Again, I am no expert and it has been over 20 years since I was involved in this industry so I do not claim to “know it all” in fact I hope to learn some things here. Having said all that I welcome the forums advice and comments!

With Regards,
Dale

Last edited:
Welcome Aboard!