Mixer Confusion

• Thread starter Thread starter system
  • Start date Start date
S

system

I am new to the business and am trying to decide what kind of mixer to buy. Been looking at 60qt Hobart and a 40qt Hobart VCM. The VCM is attractive due to compact size. Do any of you use this type of mixer and if so, do you use a phase converter (don’t have 3 phase power avail). Thanks for any input. Trying to make homemade dough and need a good machine for it.

The VCM also will dice cheese for you. While you can get a shredding attachment for the upright mixer, and even use the meat grinder to make spaghetti looking cheese (which is easy to break up by mixing) to get diced, the VCM will make much quicker work of the cheese. It can ONLY chop cheese, not actually DICE it, but it’s similar enough.

While I’m talking cheese, if you’re a “blend” person with your cheese, you now have infinite possibilities on the blend you use. You can throw in 5 pounds of mozz, 2 of prov, 8 ounces of cheddar all in one batch, turn it on and you’ve got thoroughly mixed “diced” cheese, in your own little blend. I believe Little Caesars would use something in the 15-20 pounds per “batch” of cheese, so you don’t have to do small little batches.

I believe it was done in under a minute. You can’t get that speed out of a shredder attachment.

Yeah, you asked about DOUGH! Buy a stopwatch, seconds count because of the speed at which these things operate. LC’s ran for 2 minutes if memory serves. You may not be able to restart the batch if you stop it due to the huge mass of dough that is now stopped.

If I had my choice, I’d get the VCM, due to speed and versatility. While an upright mixer may be more versatile with more attachments and such, what are you going to use the mixer for? If you answered dough and cheese, then the ability to make your own sausage is a moot point.

Last edited: