Continue to Site

need advice on problem employee

mp4doggie

Let me 1st salyy I am a fairly new owner , we have had this place for less then a year .so I am still making newbie mistakes. I had this guy that would come around looking for a second job and due to his persistence we decided to give him a chance . The atmosphere is very pretty laid back but we always have a talk with new employees about asking for loans from me.

Unfortunate he has fell on some tough times and will constantly call looking for extra hours or just come right out and ask me to give him money with the promise to work it off .

the problem we really only need him on Friday and Saturday nights

so im really just looking for other that have been in this situation and some advice on how they handled it

Last edited:
mp4,

That is a very tough predictament to be in. When I was a manager for Papa John’s Pizza, throughout my time I would have employees come to me and ask if they could borrow money, and I always declined to lend, but depending on circumsances and my financial state would sometimes give.

Depending on his situation, meaning if he has no money due to drugs, alcohol, or general mismanagement, or if he is just trying to provide for himself and / or his family and doing everything he can, depends a lot on how to respond. Assuming the first is true, then I would let him go as it will be problems down the road for sure. If it is the latter, see if you can (assuming you are financially able) create some work for him to do. Door hanging and business flyering is a great marketing technique, that I have had good response with, and allows you to provide more hours to your employee’s schedules (both from the actual marketing and the hopeful result). Other things include sign shaking, sampling, etc. Other than that, I would shy away from just giving as it may become a habit.

Hope this helps!

Last edited: