Continue to Site

New Pizza guy here... needing advice

• Thread starter Thread starter system
  • Start date Start date
S

system

I just opened a small diner / pizzeria in a town outside of new orleans… between 4 major chemical plants… competing against dominos and papa johns only… no other places here at all … but booming business for them. Im just getting started on the pizza end… i purchased a single lincoln gas impinger…( one rack) a 30 qt hobart mixer and I have a large commercial convection oven…it may be a month or three before i can purchase a large oven and the hood system… hoping to get away with what I have and still make great pizza with the convection oven… . all i can do at this moment… in short I am from South Jersey and grew up with NY Style thin crust and hoping for suggestions on recipe for dough and sauce etc… my pizza exp was from 15 yrs ago… hand tossing pies for a place in jersey… any suggestion welcome… thanks to all…

I would have experimented around and found the best pizza recipe before I opened. As you are, you can find many pizza recipes online. Try new things until you find something different and tasty.
Also, use commas instead of ellipses.

Last edited:
Check out the Encyclopizza as a start. Keep your costs very low. Focus on marketing and product. Differentiate yourself in both superior service and product.

Last edited:
Yes, Encyclopizza is a very good site. I would focus on at most 1-3 main specialty pizzas and work hard at making them well. Once you get good at making pizzas by someone else’s recipe you can add your own touch to it.
Differentiation is key. 🙂

Last edited:
Teddy;
Take a look in the RECIPE BANK. There are a lot of great dough formulas/recipes and pizza types posted in there.
Keep in mind that convection ovens are not pizza ovens by any stretch of the imagination. You will be wanting to look at a deck or possibly one of the newer air impingement ovens to make a great New York style pizza.