Continue to Site

New Pizzeria Startup

Matt69

Hi, my names Matt and I have been in the pizza business for about 18 months. I am 23 years old, and I am a part time manager/delivery driver at a local pizza place. I have a decent amount of management knowledge, but very little experience. I also have a degree in Business Management. I have a good credit score and no debt. My total personal assets are valued at about $15,000 and I have about $6,000 in cash. My question is do you think I would have problems securing a loan for my business, I have estimated total costs to be about $60,000, not including money to keep me afloat the first 6 months or so. My market consists of a smallish town (pop. 35,000), 2 colleges, and only 2 pizza places (one dine-in only and one delivery only, both pizza huts.) I attended college in this town and know a fair amount of people. I love working in the pizza business, but I feel I might be moving too quickly. Also, I don’t plan on opening the store this year, but hopefully early next year. My father is also a business owner and my best friend is a manager at a nearby retail store. I’m not quite ready to go to a bank seeking a loan, so I thought I would seek some helpful advice here. I am going to start a Pizza place eventually, but I would like to know peoples opinions on if I should wait, or if I should do it now. This town has not been hit by the economic recession at all, and with only 2 pizza places I think opening as soon as possible would be the smart thing to do. If $6,000 is not enough, I can get more investment from my family, but that is just for a last resort.

Last edited:
Hi Matt

I’ve split you question into two parts. Is $6000 enough to: