New to the game and need some input.

rookiepizzaguy

Hello All,

Im new to the pizza business and need some help in the delivery area. I am opening a dine-in and delivery pizzeria in about 6 weeks. Im currently in the process of securing my insurance for the business and it seems that delivery driver insurance is a HUGE concern for the insurance companies. I have been kicking around the idea of hiring my drivers as “independent contractors” and having them do nothing but deliver pizzas and get paid a flat fee per day or per delivery. Im wondering if you guys can enlighten me as to the easiest and best ways to offer delivery to my customers…any thoughts and ideas are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited:
some of the other guys will come in and better explain WHY NOT to do the contractor bit.

The simple answer is that if you are going to do this and do it right then you have to pay the right price. Someone down the line (either you or the driver) is going to have to a) pay the cost of business insurance or b) think that it is appropriate not to have insurance - at which point YOU (the business owner) ends up carrying the risk when someone gets hit etc.

If there was some ‘magic’ way that using independent contractors would make ‘cheaper’ to run a delivery service then everyone would do that and the answer is they don’t.

If you’re going to do delivery then shop around, find the best rates for the most suitable cover (plenty of guys will chip in with their insurance provider) and get professional drivers in to work for you. Good luck!

Last edited: