Continue to Site

Owner of pizza store asking me to buy. Questions...

edgarhansen

Greetings everyone. This is my first time posting here, though I have been lurking on these forums for quite some time. I have been a delivery driver for a small franchise (10-20 locations) in Ohio for 6 years and am now the 'top" driver for the store I work in. I will break down some facts:

Gross Sales for the past 5-10 years ~400K/year (open since 1990-ish).
Rent is 1,000/month.
Royalties are 5% of gross sales.
Owner has an asking price of 150K, which I find to be decent (he says it is what he bought it for 4 years ago.)

Unfortunately at this time, I do not possess much more pertinent info/sales records/costs and such.

I believe his bi-weekly payroll, including matching taxes, and paying himself is 4500$. So thats 9000$-ish per Month for 32000/month in sales. He pays himself on his bi-weekly paychecks 1400$ but additionally, he takes a payout of 3-400/wk from the cash register. He drinks and smokes heavily. He has a family of 5, one of which is starting college. He claims he is “floating by” right now, which could possibly be true, but he fails to recognize the costs he incures on himself such as
  1. Smoking 300$/month in cigarettes.
  2. Drinking ???/month (probably 500) in booze.
  3. He became 30,000$ behind on his food order from our distributor last year when he was hardly working, and thus is now paying an “extra” 400/wk to “catch up.” (He should be close to being out of debt.)
We have 3 managers, one manager is on salary and he pays her 925/bi weekly. The other 2 managers are just short of 10/hour. The drivers are all making 7/hr + .50 delivery + tips. I am of course a driver, working 35-40 hours a week and making 600/wk (which is probably more than the owner is making, if he wasn’t so dumb with his money.)

Other facts:
  1. Walk in cooler that has brand new fans, should last a lifetime.