Continue to Site

Post topping

morettispizza

Post toppings
I came across this phrase while reading some posts and was a little curious. What toppings are better put on after the pizza comes out of the oven? Also what topiings are better under the cheese than over? I know these are a little remedial but I am new to this and there is a ton to learn, every time I think i have a hold on it… I learn somethin new.

Thanks all.

Last edited:
I don’t know of many ingredients that are better when they are added after the pizza has been cooked aside from basil, but most veggies are definitely better under the cheese, especially spinach and sun dried tomatoes. For me, adding veggies under the cheese greatly reduces the amount of moisture that forms on top of the pie after it has cooked. Helps to make it look less greasy.

Last edited:
we do a few things post toppings
  1. one of our best pizza the Carribean has a salsa made of tomatos, onions, banana peppers, jalapenos, and pine apple.
    diced up small and put on after it comes out and this pizza is WOW.
  2. on our tex-mex we add lettuce and tomato and colby jack cheese after comes out

Last edited:
60.png
rummyspizza:
I don’t know of many ingredients that are better when they are added after the pizza has been cooked aside from basil, but most veggies are definitely better under the cheese, especially spinach and sun dried tomatoes. For me, adding veggies under the cheese greatly reduces the amount of moisture that forms on top of the pie after it has cooked. Helps to make it look less greasy.
I will have to disagree with you, the crust gets soggy if you put veggies under the cheese.

Last edited:
What ever the customer wants. I have done tomatoes, onions, red and green peppers, cheddar,parm and feta cheese, pineapple, lettuce and spinach to name a few.

Last edited: