Continue to Site

Questions about canned/bottled beverages for delivery

Uncle_Doug

Hi there, I’m new to these forums. I’ve read some great postings on here and am glad to have found a place for fellow pizza folk to congregate. I find it very aptly named as well!

As I stated in my first post, I’m a driver/jack-of-all-trades at a chain restaurant, but would at some point in the future like to start my own shop. Money is my main obstacle, so it will be a while. I’m on a big research kick for the time being.

Anyway, I have been reading old threads, and there are many on the topic of bottled beverages, but I have some unanswered questions. Perhaps I will show my ignorance here.

Some smaller places I’ve seen get around the gouging from Coke/Pepsi distributors by simply getting their product at the grocery store. Sam’s Club would be another option. What I’m wondering here is, can you get in trouble for reselling Coke/Pepsi products without using them as a distributor? Are you not allowed to advertise the fact that you serve their products? Would you get in trouble for having a Coke logo on your menu, etc?

Or do you simply just have the problem of not having an on-site cooler provided by them when you decide to purchase/resell their products through other means?

Another question I have is about bottled vs. canned for delivery. I hate the idea of charging $1.50 or near that for one drink, which seems necessary the way Coke charges around a dollar for 20 oz. bottles. Cans seem like you could get a better deal on, but will Coke deliver you cans? Or are you stuck again going to Sam’s Club to get a better deal? I’d like to have cans, so I could offer something like $1 each, and 6 for $5 etc. - Good profits for me AND the customer can get drinks for everyone and not spend $10 - Easy for a driver to transport as well. I’ve seen the argument, and I would agree with it, that cans are tacky and unprofessional for in-store, but they seem fit for delivery in my eyes.