Continue to Site

Quickbooks Online?

Bluebird

Does anyone use Quickbooks online? I’ve been using Quickbooks since opening in 9/2014, but I switched to QB online recently. I’m having some reservations about it. Switching back now as opposed to later would save me a lot of work in the future, since you cannot export back into the desktop version.

Last edited:
i have had it since they launched it…I granfathered into a $5/month price so I dont think that could be beat with not having to ever deal with updates, etc. I love the fact I can login from anywhere and my accountant can access as well…only knock is searching for entries by vendor could be better

Last edited:
I am a partner in two businesses (not pizza related) one uses QB on a local computer; the other uses QB online. I am typically all over the books of both businesses. I find online irritatingly slow, and non intuitive. Some of the automation functions with bank accounts are pretty good. The big thing for me is you cannot do a backup and restore from a saved file with the online version. I talked to QB about it, and they call it a feature, one to keep a rogue partner from uploading a fraudulent set of books. I call it a huge risk. If you ever “blow up” your QB data base, you cannot just restore the online version to the latest good version.

I have come to be able to live with each. Going forward I would prefer the stand alone version. That said, I always have 3 backups of the stand alone QB data base. 1 on the local computer, 2 on a USB stick, and 3rd on the cloud in another physical location. That way in case of fire, I still have the data.

We might have a little more tech knowledge available to us than the typical shop. We run the local QB off of a Synology Disk Station DS413j that is in a secure location with backup up power. We VPN into it, so we have access from anywhere with internet. Of course we need our laptop with the QB installed on it.