Continue to Site

Service idea... is it patent-able?

pizzafanatic

First of all, my apologies for the vagueness of this topic.

I’m working on a service idea that I can’t find anyone else doing. Without saying exactly what it is, can I patent a service or process as it pertains to the making of a product, even though the product itself is very common?

I have already told some close friends and employees about it and most agree that it’s a great idea. I’m getting ready to test out the idea, but my fear is that competition (i.e. the “chains”) hears about it and does something similar.

I was told by a friend that I should patent the idea. I have no experience with the patent process, but know it could possibly be lengthy and expensive. But I guess it could protect me in the future and lead to some nice royalties from the competition (wishful thinking).

Here’s a similar scenario… there is a new frozen yogurt shop in my area. It’s all self-service where the customer fills their cup and pays by the ounce. I’ve never seen this before. Is this new service patent-able? Can this new yogurt shop do anything from keeping another shop from doing the same exact thing?

Any info would be helpful.

Last edited:
As far as I know you can patent anything if you have the time and money.

One of my friends dads was once telling me about a friend he has that owns the patent to the idea to turn on your headlights when in a funeral ride with all the cars lined up (not sure if theres a term for that or not). And if I recall, I believe he gets money from the government for using that idea because its now mandatory.

Last edited:
The more important question is do you have the cash to enforce the patent?..Lawyers are not cheap and you need lawyers working on your behalf every time some violates your patent…Good luck…

Last edited:
Looking at the web it looks like this wouldn’t be patent-able.

I found this good definaition (its from the UK but I bet its similar world wide)