Take action in new economy!

1995flyingspur

Just to begin, I wanted to mention that we have been in business since 1972, so I’m no stranger to economies in their different stages and cycles.
I wanted to share with you guys some things I have done in the past, which ultimately helps us get through the harder times. These are permament things, which when used in good times only act as an extra cherry on top, but in bad times serve as business savers.

We all agree that sales are a cure to all problems in this business? Anyway that’s my belief and I run my business accordingly. I am going to mention 2 things which I have been doing for the past 7 years, two things that have made a huge difference in my bottom line.
  1. Offer all front desk staff at all hotels in your delivery area 40% off. I used to offer 50%, but had to tighten it up because of the cheese situation recently. By doing this, you are basically getting employees go to bat for you. Eventually all food deliveries to hotels will be from your place. Of course you charge their customers full price. I actually had a Holiday Inn Express put all of our menus in each of their rooms! We now are doing several thousand dollars worth of deliveries to the hotels in our delivery range every month. What’s more, those who are staying in the hotels are normally in vacation mode, and tend to spend more. They will buy off the entire menu at times including desserts and drinks. All of this for the small food cost you’re extending to the front desk. At 40% or even 50% off, you are still being compensated for the food, in fact there is a little bit of a profit at that discount!