Continue to Site

tax issue

xlpizzaguy

We are looking at buying a pizzeria, the owner informed us that there are 3 years worth of back personal property tax owed…(not on the building) If I buy the business, how would I insulate myself from that?
we would keep the name of the business but the owner of the strip mall wants us to move it to a much nicer location in town, currant building is really old and he has a vacant restaurant (6 moths old) we will be getting the pizzeria basically at cost of used equipment, wife wants out. husband passed away a couple years ago. So my question is this; will those back taxes follow me? should I get something in writting? and whats the best…sole proprietor, LLC?

Last edited:
HI XL:
I am not a lawyer but my comments would be.

Apparently the Tax lean is on the equipment so I would determine the amount of the lean and write one check to the state for the lean amount and one for the balance of the equipment cost to the owner.

You best get a lawyer to handle the paper work.

Another thing I mention to those buying a shop or in your case the equipment. Make sure all the equipment will meet the current health, building and fire department codes.

Codes are being constantly up dated. You should have the various inspectors in before you buy to check the equipment out.

George Mills

Last edited:
I had to go make a pizza after typing this, while I was gone George said close to the same thing I typed but I had already typed it so here it is.

Just another question though, how healthy was the business if they were not paying taxes?

This sounds like one of those 'Seek qualified legal advice" moments.