Continue to Site

What is the "fool's tax"?

wiseguy

Yep, I’m a noob. I keep reading people talking about having to pay the fool’s tax. What is it? Is this just a term used to describe some random expense that arose from something that was not, or should have been, planned for? Any specific examples? Something that makes you slap your head like Homer and yell “DOH”!!!

Last edited:
“wiseguy” said:
Yep, I’m a noob. I keep reading people talking about having to pay the fool’s tax. What is it? Is this just a term used to describe some random expense that arose from something that was not, or should have been, planned for? Any specific examples? Something that makes you slap your head like Homer and yell “DOH”!!!

You are absolutely bloody right there.

The term “Fool’s Tax” came from Nick Sissy, oops I mean Sasso in an earlier post from me about paying too much for a business.

I mentioned that I got ripped off with shonky equipment, bad electrical wiring, understated expenses and other things that made me say much worse than “DOH” !!!

Basically, Nicole, oops I mean Nick, came back with the term “everyone pays their “fools tax” if you don’t do careful due dilligence” or something very close to that.

I’m sure he will come on here and give a more defined and concise explanation so he can show everyone he is much more intelligent than me with my low IQ (only 1 point below Nick’s) 😃

We have now adopted the “Fool’s Tax” terminology as a generic for paying too much, not doing due dilligence, being ripped off, not being thorough enough etc.

Dave

Last edited:
Example A:

You thought the price/cost sounded right at $500
Now you know the price/cost should be $375

Your total Fools Tax paid= $125

Example B:

You stay with your boring, dull marketing plan. Sales $8,000
You decide to take j_r0kks advice and doorhang Sales $8,833

DOH ! Your total Fools Tax paid= $833

Last edited: