Continue to Site

What Makes New York Pizza, New York Pizza?

pizzapirate

From what I have gathered, use a higher protein flour like All Trumps, make it thin with a small outer crust and light on the toppings.

Does it matter if it is hand tossed, sheeted or rolled?
Should there be an outer crust or uniform all the way out?

Everyone seems to have their own interpretation but I wonder if there are a couple things that are consistent to make it a New York Pizza???

Last edited:
This may just be hearsay, but I’ve heard that real New York pizzerias have coal fired ovens that hit a higher temperature than normal, and that they impart a unique flavor to the pizza. Other than that, I think chewy, thin crust and a sauce that isn’t too sweet, but I’m no expert.

Last edited:
Incidentally, a quick wiki search of “New York style pizza” turned up the following:
Wikipedia:
New York style is identified by its wide, thin, and foldable slices. The traditional toppings are tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese, and any additional toppings are placed with the cheese. It is traditionally hand-tossed and light on sauce. The slices are often eaten folded in half, as its size and flexibility sometimes makes it unwieldy to eat flat.
Though coal fired ovens are not mentioned, a search for them turned up numerous references to their use in early NYC pizzerias, such as Lombardi’s. So though I still don’t claim any expertise on the subject, it would appear that I wasn’t wrong.

This post edited by moderator.

Last edited:
48.png
pizzapirate:
From what I have gathered, use a higher protein flour like All Trumps, make it thin with a small outer crust and light on the toppings.

Does it matter if it is hand tossed, sheeted or rolled?
Should there be an outer crust or uniform all the way out?

Everyone seems to have their own interpretation but I wonder if there are a couple things that are consistent to make it a New York Pizza???
Uh, let’s get back on topic.