Continue to Site

Would you buy my sauce?

GaGa

Hi Everyone,

I am thinking of starting a company whereby I market to independent owners. I have been working for 2 years or so on a pizza sauce in my kitchen and am very confident about its taste. Anyway, I thought I would drive around an offer a gallon or so of my sauce for free and hope to obtain online orders based on that free sample. As I talk to co-packers the cheapest I will be able to produce the sauce is between $3-$4 a gallon (128 ounces). Is that price too high for you to be interested? Also, what type of packaging would be your preference pouches or cans? In the end, if I cannot beat the Syscos of the world on price then I think this is a non-starter. What is the most you would pay for a good quality sauce? Would a guy like me walking into your shop have any chance at selling you my sauce? I know I have a good product but I do not know if the barriers to entry are too large (i.e. Price of sauce and getting you to use my sauce instead of the homogenized tomato products sold by the huge companies). Any response to this is greatly appreciated.

Continued success and if you see a guy walking up to your door with a bag trust me there is only sauce in there.

Regards.

Last edited:
60.png
GaGa:
What is the most you would pay for a good quality sauce? Would a guy like me walking into your shop have any chance at selling you my sauce? I know I have a good product but I do not know if the barriers to entry are too large (i.e. Price of sauce and getting you to use my sauce instead of the homogenized tomato products sold by the huge companies). Any response to this is greatly appreciated.
If your market is the guys using pre-canned, straight from the package stuff, you might have a shot. For places like mine, we use the fresh=pack tomato products as a base for our own sauce. Your buying the same stuff and processing it another time reduces its value to me . . . more processed and seasoned.