Continue to Site

Would you hate me? I consider it due diligence

Charlief

I am looking to get into a new biz and i have the time and resources to not jump into anything right away.

As I wrote here before I thought about a pizza/sub shop. A nice shop came on a listing and I got myself a job there. I have never worked in restaurant before so I’m startiing off as a delivery driver. Doing all the duties associated with that job. Washing dishes, rubbish, box folding etc. Basically all the crap stuff. I don’t mind…I’m learning. But going from making six figures (burnt out from last biz…it wasn’t about the money) to making 6 bucks an hour has my wife and friends peeing their pants laughing.

The owner is a great guy and doesn’t know, that I know, his place is for sale. That’s where I feel bad. I am an ethical person but kinda “spying” like this has me torn. I in no way have done anything like looking at papers or anything like that. I’ve just observed the workings, the sales volume, and % of deliveries vs take out/eat in. He has already talked to me about working the front and learning prep/order making. This will start soon and I’m looking forward to it.

All the people who work there are very nice and have great attitudes. Every one seems to like me except for one driver…I called him lazy…he told me to F off. The boss laughed and said " I knew there was a reason I like you"

About 75% is delivery. Average sales(from the listing sheet) is 9-10K week. I think this is about right from what I have observed. Listing stated owner clears 100k. Only my accountant and lawyer will dig deeper to find out the truth when I decide to go deeper into this transaction

So…if you were me…would you do the same thing?

Last edited:
It looks like a valid strategy to me… for a limited amount of time. I think that if you have been for a couple of weeks it is time to tell the guy. (I found myself wondering if it was me)

Last edited: