Curbside Pickup

Anyone here implemented a curbside pickup program? Parking has been a major issue at my store so we’re looking to reserve some parking spots and just do an Outback Style curbside program. Problem is, I have no experience with this and am looking for any advice that people can offer. Thanks.

Check with you landlord first – restricted parking is not always an option. If parking is a big issue this would seem a hurdle. Maybe they just call when they are there and say where they are and what car???

I personally don’t like the concept as extra labor is a problem but if parking is severely affecting your business it may be a viable option.

My first thought when I read your post is how is curbside pickup going to solve your parking problem? I can see the reserved parking spaces for carryout, but whether the customer comes in or you have an employee going out, the vehicle is still going to be parked there for about the same amount of time.

I do take orders out to people who have difficulty getting in and out of vehicles (Physically challenged) as a courtesy to them as they are regular customers because of it.

I think it would actually hurt your situation. Prime front parking reserved for pickups…if everyone follows the rules then you have a parking spot left open which no one is supposte to use when you need it for a dine in customer.

Make sure to take the safety of your employee into account as well. I would at the very least install a camera and maybe some extra lighting in the area they will be.