delivery driver pay

what do you pay your drivers?mine make min 7.25 plus tips and 1.00 per run,im thinking to drop them to tip wage at all times.should i drop them to tip wage? any help here would be great

Minimum Wage ($8.55 in WA), plus tips, plus $1.50 per run.

I would not do anything that constitutes a pay cut…could be bad for morale and performance.

Mine are $7.25/hr + tips + $.75/run but they also work in the kitchen.

Around August of this when I project us to have pure delivery positions on Weekends and one or two nights a week, they will make tip+ wages and I don’t feel bad about that at all. I make good money when I work as a driver and I’ve seen some of my guys make close to $20/hr.

my guys make 20 and up there duties are making boxes and dishes and they take phones calls that is about all they do this summer they will be doing door hanging and other promo stuff i just get tired of all the lazy stuff they do when everyone else bust there butts

Dash, since you asked the question and are considering doing this can you give your reasoning as to why one day you would pay drivers 7.25 then the next xxxx (whatever this lower amount is - please tell us)?

You would have to justify this to your staff so have a good on here.

I’m not commenting on whether I think this is a good or a bad thing yet but I’d like to hear your take on this first.

We are minimum plus tips + $1/run when clocked in as a “driver”. When working the store they are paid a higher rate (assuming they have such skills). I think you really just have to go by what “your” market demands.

Can’t see lowering someone’s wage going over well no matter how you explain it. Years ago when we went to split rates we gave them an “in store” raise and lowered their driving rate to minimum. For “full time” drivers, I would suggest keeping their rate the same and set new hires at minimum (or whatever you feel it needs to be).