least expensive POS?

POS were just becoming the rage when I left the business some years back. At that time I think they were around 3-4k if I remember correctly.

Are there any less expensive or have they come down in price? How are they priced, per terminal?

You get what you pay for. I use Revention 16k for a two terminal/online ordering system. It’s a bit pricey but, it runs my restaurant for me, best move I made.

are they all basically the same and are they customized? if you have a POS do you still need a seperate CC terminal?

Yes, yes and no.

You will need to decide how much you want to do as far as the setup of the hardware and the menu programming. If you are a hands-on person with some computer skills you can get into a system for under $2000. If you want everything done for you expect quite a bit more.

Let us know what you expect so the people here can give you better direction.

I would most likely need someone to show around the system since I’ve never used one before. I do know that I would prefer a touch screen to keyboard.

There are point of sales systems out that you can just purchase the software and put it onto a computer that you have set up for yourself using what ever you feel is necessary for printers, monitors, cash drawers etc. There are other systems that the company will reguire you to buy all the hardware and software for them. Again the question is what level of service do you expect?

Dont buy diamondtouch :wink:

Basically if you buy a turnkey system from a company like Speedline,diamondtouch,microworks, selbysoft or others, you can expect to pay 10K to 20K depending on how many stations and what whistles and bells you get. Some have financing or leasing programs available. You get a system that is set up. tested, components are gauranteed to work well with each other etc.