?_Lehmann:

TOM,

I sure you have been asked this question many times. If you have answered it please direct me to the answer.

I am a home pizza baker and can’t seem to find the solution to this delima. When baking directly on the pizza stone at 550 degrees, I always get a tough bottom of the dough. It is leather-like, not so bad that it is a total waste but it isn’t good enough to want to bake another this way. I use Artisan flour and high gluten flour with about .25% oil in the dough. Everything is good except the tough bottom. Any solutions to this problem?

MWTC

How much flour and water do you use? This can have a great impact upon the bottom crust characteristics. Next, how do you form/shape the dough? By hand? With a rolling pin? By hand is by far the best method as you don’t end up degassing the dough as you do with a rolling pin.
Tom Lehmann/The Dough Doctor

MWTC

I was having the same troubles, seem like it was either the top was perfect but the bottom was too done or the other way around. This thread is a good one to read (although very long)

http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index. … 985.0.html

I took one of the tips and bake the pizza on the stone for about 3-5 minutes then put it on a rack in the top slot so the cheese get done without baking the bottom more. Hope this and the thread helps.

TOM,

I use 65% hydration and at least 24 hour cold fermentation, and I form the dough by hand.

MWTC

I also allow a two hour counter rise before baking on the stone.

MWTC

That is a very long final proofing time (2 hrs.) If the dough is not rising excessively during this time (I doubt that it is or you wouldn’t be doing it) you might just be too low on yeast level. What type of yeast are you using?

I’m using .25% ADY. I also got the same result from .25% IDY. Basically 1/2 tsp for 800 grams of flour.