Lincoln Impinger finger placement

One last question for the day. We have issues with soft crusts. Our finger placement is as follows:

Top: 4 hole, 4 hole, 4 hole, 4 hole
Bottom: blocked, 4 hole, 4 hole, blocked

I just started reading about finger placement today, so excuse the ignorance. But this doesnt make sense to me. Shouldn’t the bottoms be getting more airflow? Would swapping the 1st finger from the top to the bottom be beneficial? And adjusting temps and times from there?

Thanks again comrades!
Jason

Which model oven are you running? What are cook times and temp? I am no expert, but I believe our configuration is pretty standard for pizza. All four bottom fingers are full flow, top we have first and last open, middle two closed off.

Would swapping the 1st finger from the top to the bottom be beneficial? And adjusting temps and times from there?

Yes you are not getting enough bottom heat.

George Mills

Lincoln Impinger 1600. Gas. Cook times are 7:15, and temps are 445 and 435. I will try the setup like Rick G’s and see what happens. I knew this setup was not right. Rick G, what oven do you use, and what are your cook times and temps?

My oven is an Edge60 top is open,closed,closed,open and bottom is open all four.

1 Like

All I can say is WOW! Thanks for all the input guys! Why I didn’t catch this earlier, I don’t know. Pizzas are coming out with much higher quality crusts. Temps and times are 7:00, 465 Left and 440 Right.

1 Like

We have Lincoln 1450’s. I am glad you got it worked out, the crust takes a bit more energy to cook through than the top of pizza needs so the center two on top are blanked off.

Yeah I figured it was something like that. Our other oven is an old dual belt vulcan. It needs a new speed control board, but they dont make them anymore. To get that one belt operational, our local shop quoted us $2500 for an adapter and new board, and then labor on top of that. So I need to get that one sorted out next.