Wages and payroll %

What is everyone paying their:
Counter Help, pizza makers, cooks, prep/dishwashers?

And what is your target payroll %? With minimum wage increases I feel the need to bump up wages all around. Also beginning to expect more for my money.

How are you calculating your payroll? I am an owner/operator so I include my salary. Any other thoughts. Thanks as always

Currently right now i shoot for 18 to 20% labor. I am also an owner operator and that is without my salary included (Revention does not handle salary well so i just set my pay to $0.00). We have a local min wage of $9.30 that by law goes up $0.90 each year until 2020, then it will be tied to inflation. If inflation is negative, the new law forbids the min wage from going down.

I pay all my drivers min wage now, insiders get anywhere from $9.75 to $11.00, Ast managers/shift runners get $12.00 at the moment (managers and shift runners get bonuses). Now my store is a bit different as we have a tip jar that pull in on average an extra $2.00 or more for each inside employee. So in reality my insiders are making at min $11.75 and managers are making $16.00 or more an hour.

All of these values will of course change next year, and the year after that. If you do not give all of your employee’s above min wage at least a pay bump equal to the min wage raise, then you have effectively cut their pay by that amount.

Because of this new reality, twice a year (jan and june) i re-evaluate my menu pricing and coupons. As labor goes up, food costs have to go down to maintain my profit margin. If we do not maintain our profit margins, we do not stay in business. Getting customers to understand this seems a daunting task sometimes.

(as a side note, 5 years ago my labor goal was 12 to 14%, ahh how times have changed)