Continue to Site

Advice in dealing with Food Distribution Reps

pie_bar_guy

Hello all,

I am about to start shopping the food distribution market to look for a distributor. In doing so, since I have no experience in dealing directly with them, I am looking for a few helpful hints and tips that I can use to my advantage, or even just words of advice or caution when dealing with the reps.

Basically anything you can tell me that will help me and not enable the rep to think “hey, this guys new…I can screw him over easily”.

Thanks in advance!

-PBG

Last edited:
Just keep in mind that these guys are evaluated by two criteria. First is the percentage markup they yeild and second is new customers that they bring to their company. I can almost guarantee you that once you pick a distributor, your costs will increase faster than most because they will start you off low, just to get you to start buying. Once they get credit for bringing you in as a customer, they now have to get their percentages in line.

Try to negotiate a certain price over the block market for your cheese. Many distributors use the weekly average two fridays previous meaning if you were getting delivery today you would pay $1.915 plus your negotiated price over. By setting this up, you keep the distributor from raising your price at first sign of increase in block market, but only slowly decreasing as market declines.

Don’t be too quick to settle on a distributor, and don’t be shy about asking for free samples!

Last edited:
You will get different opinions on this so take all with a grain of salt (mine included)

I have owned two pizza places going on nine years. My advice is to use two distributors. Compare the prices weekly and buy from the one with the best price on an item by item basis.