Continue to Site

Grande Cheese Prices

indie_pizza

Ok, I’m seeing an awful lot of topics these last few weeks about cheese prices that are insanely low for what I’m paying for Grande.

I love their product, but I’m paying $2.78/lb and seeing you some of you paying $1+ less a pound. Am I just a sucker here? That’s (at least) $50K extra a year I’m paying for cheese! Is my distributor giving me the shaft because I’m new to the business, or is it Grande? If I switch out, who should I go with?

Last edited:
indie,

Your post will no doubt bring out the usual debate about Grande. We have this discussion about once per quarter. There are several forum members who will come out supporting Grande saying that nothing else comes close. I am not one of them.

Grande has tried several times over the last 10 years to get my business. They have dropped off samples as large as 20 lbs on several occasions. In our testing, we have found the product less desirable than what we use. In a delivery pizza the product is just not as good. Perhaps in a sit down place where the product reaches the table minutes after leaving the oven I would feel differently, but I don’t like the way the cheese sets up as it cools and there is no getting around cooling in delivery. (Even if your pie reaches the door at 175 degrees that is over 250 degree down from oven temp)

Regarding price; it is unconsionable. They buy milk at the same price everyone else does. Their business model is based on branding and getting a premium price for a commodity product. My hat is off to them that they get so many customers to pay the price. For my part, even if I liked it better I would not be willing to pay them a 40K per year premium. (I use about 40K lbs per year) Using standard food cost ratios, I would have to believe that I could raise my prices by $3 on a 16" pie as a result of using the product… and, as I said before, I find the product inferior for my use.