Continue to Site

Help with Pizza Sauce... again.

Integraoligist

Ok, I’ve been trying and trying to come up with a good Chunky and Sweet pizza sauce.
Have tried:
Almost ALL Stanislaus products (doesn’t matter what I put in the sauces, I can not stand that raw tomato flavor that all their products have)
Almost ALL Escalon products (has a hint of the raw tomato flavor like Stanislaus but we can live with it… just can’t find a good blend)
Red Pack - Sauce, Paste, and Tomato Chunks (again, testing out all different kinds of recipes and none of them have a good taste)
Pastorelli’s (the Chef Mate kind)… just don’t like it to much.

I’ve used all kinds of different recipes, from Cornells website, from the Think Tank here, from other websites and even the recipes from Stanislaus and Escalon sites.

What do I do!?!?!!? I’ve been doing this for 8 months now and still have gotten NO WHERE. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Last edited:
I am switching from Stanislaus to Angela Mia Crushed (Hunt’s). I like the flavor of the Angela Mia and to me it’s sweeter tasting than Stanislaus.

Last edited:
better get your tomato seeds planted now----the sooner you can get the right taste—go to a green store and buy vine rippened tomatoes grown naturaly

Last edited:
By your comments, I think that you just aren’t used to or appreciate real tomato taste. Stanislaus and Escalon are extremely fresh products. If you are used to the cooked down stuff, the premium products are going to taste “raw”. That bright tomato flavor is really something you want. You can change the flavor profile of the sauce by what you add to it. Adding parmesan will cut some acidity and bring out the sweetness. Also, you want to add 1.5 to 2.5% salt to the sauce.

Think of the “raw” taste as a base for what you want to do with the sauce.

Last edited:
scootie, i’ve never tried Angela Mia, what kind of consistancy can you compared it to? Is it a little watery and chunky like 7/11 or thick like a paste?