Continue to Site

How to project sales of a startup?

ssg263

Hello everyone. Just a little background: I am new to all this, but it has been a lifelong dream to own my own pizzeria (just pizzas, a house salad, and a dessert nutella pizza, no other food). I have lived in the NYC area my entire life, but I have a unique opportunity to live rent-free for a couple of years in a new city (my wife’s family owns a house there.) I would like to use this opportunity to finally pursue this dream (that is, IF I feel the economics can work.) I feel I’m at the point in my life where I’m ready to go off on my own, my background in finance/small business/arbitrage has prepared me to run a business, and pizza is what I know best and love the most, so that’s what I want to do.
I plan to run a small shop in a populated area with high visibility and low labor overhead. I feel this is the way to go if I want to maximize my chances of survival in the first year. My mission is to make high-quality, gas-deck oven, NY style pizza using only the finest ingredients. My profit margins won’t be the best, which is why I need a high visibility location to keep volume up, and need to keep overhead down (thinking just me and 1 other employee, carryout and 6-10 tables but no delivery in the beginning).