Continue to Site

Looking to acquire existing restaurant

• Thread starter Thread starter system
  • Start date Start date
S

system

I am about to graduate college in a couple of months and have decided to purchase an existing pizza restaurant. Now you may think it’s a little quick for someone right out of college to jump into ownership of a pizza place, but throughout the years I have owned a few companies (ecommerce mostly - since I’m a full time student), have managed retail stores and even worked at a pizza restaurant when I was much younger. Now I have the financing lined up in order to go forward with a purchase in a few months. I have gained experience of due dilligence, reading financial statements, etc through my finance classes and working in the business banking arm of the bank I currently work for.

My question is: What advice can pizza restaurant owners such as yourselves give me? Anything at all that you would think is helpful, and the most helpful advice is something that I can’t read in a book.

Let me know what you guys think.

Ryan

Ryan,

While you’re definitely on the younger end of the scale, this can be an advantage in terms of strength and energy (I’d say my strongest years were probably my 30s, though at 42 I can still out work most 20 somethings).

The downside is not just the lack of experience (because everyone lacks experience with their first shop) but perhaps the staying power which comes with age. I say this not to discourage you but to caution you that you won’t know how much it requires until you’re chin deep, and can’t back out. (Kinda like marriage, but I mean that in a good way.)