Continue to Site

security systems

macnicol

So im thinking about adding a security systems. Pretty much 4 or 5 cameras in color and a dvr. I guess I would also need a computer and monitor? or can i use my computer that i already have? any ideas on which one you would recommend?

thanks

Last edited:
You’re usually better off if you piece these things together rather than buying a bundle. Hard for us to say if your computer will work without know the specs, but there are plenty of windows based programs that are much easier for you to navigate and reuse storage.

I’ve been getting a lot of equipment off of www.techforless.com lately, “open box” and “scratch and dent” prices are really good and shipped fast.

Last edited:
Costco.com has great deals all the time. I just picked up a system with a build in 7" monitor, 4 color cameras, and 250 gb hard drive in the $400 range.

Last edited:
Before I did pizzas I installed security systems for a living. Let me tell you the number one advantage of having it there is to have it bery visable. Dishonest people are going to do their business no matter you do. Having them there is more of a deturent. It will keep honest people honest. If you get a system please don’t get one of those cheapies from walmart or simular they are complete rubbish and the resolution on them is just about worthless if you ever intend on taking the person doing you wrong to court. Do your research first.

You can use your current computer as a DVR but you are going to need to get the appropriate card for the computer. also you will need alot of room for the videos, and you are going to need software to run it. Now some of the cards for the computer come with some basic software for you to use. If it does make sure that it has something to call back differnt times, and a print function is a very good feature too.

Last edited: